Ishestar – Icelandic Horseback Riding Adventures

IMG_0017

I know it has been a big gap in posts – I have been super busy adjusting to life back home, moving in my new apartment, and juggling a job at the same time. That being said, I really wanted to take the time to tell you all about the amazing experience I had at Ishestar riding Icelandic horses.

While driving through Iceland I had seen my fair share of the famous horses. In a country of only 320,000 people, there are a staggering 80,000 of them our roaming in the gorgeous green fields. I had really wanted to ride one, but did not think I would have the time. That is until I happen to meet some workers on a bus ride who were able to schedule me a two hour ride the morning of my flight home!

I was picked up promptly at 9:30 am by the Ishestar shuttle bus. The bus was easy to spot as it had a giant horse on the side of it and it even had wifi! The farm was located only about a 20 minutes outside of Reykjavik, but still felt as if you were deep in the heart of Iceland as there was hardly any buildings or roads in sight.

IMG_0015

Once the group arrived at the stable we were immediately greeted by a friendly staff who lead us into a big room where we could borrow helmets, rain jackets, pants, and even rain boots if needed. The waiting room was huge and equipped with my chairs, a coffee bar, and even some TVs which we used to watch a quick tutorial before heading out to choose our horses.

The group was about 30 people so we split into two groups and advanced/intermediate and beginner. I had planned on going in the beginner as I have not been on a horse in years; however, my friends that I met on the bus were leading the intermediate so I decided to just go for it.

IMG_0018

Going in the faster group was honestly the best decision. I had an absolute blast trotting, tolting, and cantering all throughout lava fields and meadows. The scenery was absolutely incredible and the path we went on was so much fun. It was the perfect way to end my Icelandic experience.

To read more about their pricing, tours, and much more click HERE.

Leave a comment